GPS function from the Archos 5 Android

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GPS function from the Archos 5 Android

Hello guys! Newbie here. I recently purchased this product called Archos 5 Internet Table (Android OS) from the States and I learned that it also has some GPS functions, which is powered by NDrive. I checked their maps, but they don't seem to have maps here in the Philippines. So do you think there is a way I can use the GPS function here? And um, by the way, I am not very familiar with GPS, haven't used it before, all I know is that it can give me specific directions or waypoints, something like that. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

hi generacks8, i have an archos5 too which i recently got, but m still trying to figure out where to get a map that would work with its GPS. let me know when you find out. i'll let you know if i do.

thanks.

Comment

hi..

I was advised that Archos users can buy their gps maps from the site I indicate below but I haven't tried it yet, I'm still in the process of researching for local made maps similar to the maps in garmin since it appears to be updated with the new names of streets and etc. But if I really kind find one that works with Android, then I guess this will be my last resort. Thanks!

http://www.sygic.com/index.php/en/how-to-buy.html

Comment

i just installed ndrive for android earlier today for my nexusone. it has a 7 day free trial for downloaded maps.

used it going to work (eastwood) from my house (near UP diliman) and it was ok. it didnt know the weird u-turn slot mmda made going to eastwood which i expected.

also checked POIs for some places i had a hard time finding recently such as the cityland condo in wackwack and it WAS NOT there. can someone from makati or the south try this? really want offline navigation (GPS only and no 3g or data) for going around makati since i always get lost there hahahah!